Weekly Writing Update (2/27/2015)

This week was tough writing wise.  I ended up hitting a block for my story, and wasn’t quite sure where to take it.  I’m still on track, since I was so far ahead of my weekly goals before, and I’ve managed to surpass 50K!  Feels crazy since book 1 isn’t even out yet.  Why can’t I be this prepared for other things?

After a couple days off from writing I finished the first edit of The Howling Jade, and I must say I still really like my ending.  When I wrote it I liked it, but I wasn’t sure if it was a good ending for the characters.  The story is told from Ren’s POV, and in book 3 it switches to another character, and Ren is not seen again, so I had to wrap it all up.  I think I did that, but I’ll find out after giving it to my editor.

The first edit for The Howling Jade was relatively clean, too–I did lose count to how many typos were changed, but there weren’t many scene changes like in the first book (God, there were scene changes in that one).  There was one near the end in which I totally forgot a character was in, and one second he’s there, the next he’s totally left on a spaceship and never spoken of again.  Whoops!  Sorry dude.  I think the story didn’t change much because I knew exactly where I wanted to go with it, whereas book one I was winging it.

Now that I’m done with the first edit it gets to sit back down for a while.  It can be hard to put it down sometimes–I feel like I’m not doing enough when I take a break even though I know for a fact that I need to do so to make it better.  I guess I’ll just have to focus more energy on book 3!

PS: I redid the blog layout!  Looks so pretty now 🙂  I look forward to having more than one book cover to work with though lol

Leave a Reply

