Unmotivated? Remember Where You Started

As I go along on my fitness journey I find that a lot of people suggest to remember where you started when you feel unmotivated to get your butt off the couch.  In a way it can also be used in writing.

Over the weekend I did absolutely NO writing.  Zero words down.  It’s always disappointing, but some days I just can’t seem to will my fingers to do any work.  I’ll have everything prepped and ready to go; an entire scene written in my head, notes taken for things I don’t want to forget, coffee cup filled to the brim.  But still I can’t find the strength to open the document and get to work.  There are many factors that play into this, but sometimes I think it’s just pure laziness.

So, rather than feeling super unmotivated today, I decided to think back to where I started, which was zero words.  At one point I had absolutely NO WORDS written on this manuscript and only a vague idea of where the plot was headed.  I now have just over 30,000 words, and thankfully a solid plot (or at least I hope it’s solid! haha).  That’s nearly halfway to my goal for the book!  Not too shabby.

banner3

Leave a Reply

