Argent 2 Hits 20K + First Draft Nerves

The Argent Star 2 hit 20K the other day, something I wasn’t quite expecting to get to so fast.  I sat down and ended up just writing and writing and writing–it was wonderful!  The day after however my brain was a little spent so I just did some brief outlining on the next chapters.  I’ve gotten about five more chapters outlined, which I think will be able to get to about 30K, or very close at least.

I might even be able to get past 30K by the new year!  It’s only 10K and I have half a month left.  Seems doable.

First drafts are always so nerve-wracking aren’t they?  It’s so much fun to run along side your characters, uncovering things with them, but personally I also tend to second guess myself.  I have to remind myself that a first draft is just a first draft.  As in it is most likely not great.  Things will always have to change in it, and just because it’s not perfect doesn’t mean it won’t ever get better.

It goes both ways though.  I also have to remind myself not to get too cocky in what I’m writing, since things will have to change.  The 20K I have written might not be usable later on if I think of another route to go.  Ah, writing.

I’m going to focus on the positive, and just keep moving forward with the storyline.  I’m trying to avoid going back and editing, since when I do that it just really slows the process down and I don’t get anything done.  Sure I find some typos and names change but that really doesn’t matter in a first draft.

 

PS: I’m going to post another piece of The Argent Star on Wattpad soon, so be on the lookout for that!

Leave a Reply

